Wisconsin Area Research Centers

There are 14 Area Research Centers that the State Historical Society of Wisconsin has setup to build collections of documents pertaining to certain county areas of Wisconsin. There are 72 total counties that makeup the state of Wisconsin. Holdings in each of the 14 centers vary but may include original records and papers, local histories, genealogies, government documents, newspapers, maps, oral histories and photographs. Some of the materials may be temporarily loaned to the nearest center to you for you or a hired genealogist to review. Listed below are centers that have been helpful in my own searches:
Area 1 – Dane-Columbia-Sauk
State Historical Society of Wisconsin – Madison, WI
Area 5 – Kenosha – Racine
University of Wisconsin – Parkside Library – Kenosha, WI
Area 9 – Vilas – Oneida – Lincoln – Langlade – Forest – Marathon – Wood – Portage – Waupaca – Juneau – Adams – Waushara
University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point – Stevens Point, WI

Wisconsin Area Research Centers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s